• Stunners
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Lenses:Tamron 70-300mm vc
    Sigma 105mm f2,8
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D300

Posted 15 October 2013 - 10:34 AM

Hey there ! 

This was on Mafia Island, Tanzania. I was doing a volunteering project about marine ecosystems, which involved a lot of diving. I loved it and had the chance to use my friends camera. I would just love to do more underwater photography, because it just involves two of my favorites hobbies. I can't effort a underwater housing for my Nikon D300 (I am a Student of Veterinary Medicine in Vienna) Does anyone have experience with those expensive housings? Is it worth the money ? 

Love to read some comments about my pictures!

Greeting from Austria, 

Sarah

Attached Files

#2 Bart Soons

Bart Soons

• Stunners
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationAntwerp, Belgium
  • Lenses:Canon:
    50mm 1.8
    17-55mm 2.8 IS USM
    70-200 2.8 IS II USM
    2X Extender III.
  • Flashes:Canon 600 ex-rt
    Inon S2000 (UW photography)
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 600D
    Canon G12 With Canon UW housing

Posted 21 October 2013 - 05:25 PM

For the price of an UW housing for your dslr you can get a decent compact camera with UW housing and an External strobe.  And it is much more versatile than a dslr.  You can't switch lenses under water with your dslr. (you can try, but that's gonna cost you even more.  ;-)  )

the colors are going to be so much better with that external fash, but it takes time to get used to it (backscatter, angles, strobe power, ...)

And also, if your UW housing floods, you will still have your dslr.  it is cheaper to buy another compact camera then to buy the dslr with lens

hope this helps.

#3 cchandle1

cchandle1

• Stunners
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Lenses:Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
    Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
    Canon EF 35mm f/2 IS USM
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon EOS 70D

Posted 07 December 2013 - 05:52 AM