austitalbrecht

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Lenses:24-105 f/4
    50mm f/2.8
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 7d mark II

Posted 26 December 2015 - 01:42 PM

I have had someone ask to take pictures at their wedding. I have never done that before so I am wondering what equipment I should have. I am willing to rent and/ or buy stuff. I need some suggestions. Do I need an external flash? 2 cameras? Any help would be greatly appreciated

#2 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

Mr Astrophotography!

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,333 posts
  • LocationMandeville, LA
  • Lenses:Canon 70-200 f2.8 II, Canon 16-35 f4L IS, Tamron 35mm f1.8, Sigma 100-400 f5/6.3
  • Flashes:Yongnuo 560, 565 and 568.
  • Camera Body or Bodies:5D MkIII,

Posted 26 December 2015 - 03:02 PM

The first thing I would ask is how big is the wedding?  If it's fairly involved, you might want to either beg off or find someone else to shoot with you.  If it's a small affair, you can probably be okay.  But there's a couple of things to keep in mind.  First, you need to meet with the parties involved and find out exactly what they want and write it down....and write it down.  Sorry for the drama, but my son is a pro wedding shooter and I can tell you, if you don't iron out the details, you're in for a long and miserable day.

Remember that for some, the pre wedding stuff is as important as the service itself.  Bride/groom/Mom/Dad getting ready, that sort of stuff.  The venue; you need to visit it prior to the shoot.  What do they expect from you as far as the finished product goes?  It's a lot to ask of one photographer.

Equipment:  I recommend two cameras and at least one that's equipped with TWO memory cards; insurance.  Lenses...a good 24-70 f2.8 and a good 70-200 f2.8.  An on camera flash with a diffuser for the reception.  Bounce flash may be useless due to high ceilings.  No flash in the church, hence the f2.8.  Set the camera's shutter to quiet mode if you can.