• 4 posts
  • Lenses:canon 50mm 1.8
    canon 70-200 f2.8 is ii
    Tamron 24-70 f2.8
  • Flashes:canon 430ex
  • Camera Body or Bodies:canon 6d

Posted 20 December 2015 - 06:59 AM

Hi
Please could you help me I want to know what settings I should use for single person, couples and family portraits. I'm using three light set up. Thank you

#2 K_Georgiadis

K_Georgiadis

Master Photographer

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,513 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
  • Lenses:Sigma 24-105mm F4 DG
    Sigma 17-70mm
    Tamron 90mm macro
    Tamron 70-300mm
    Sigma 150-600mm
    Canon 17-40 mm 4.0 L
    Canon 50 mm 1.8
  • Flashes:Bolt VX-710C
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 6D
    Canon Rebel 7D Mark II
    Canon Rebel T3i

Posted 20 December 2015 - 11:53 AM

That is not an easy question to answer but, even though I am only an occasional portrait photographer, I can talk about some of the general principles. You want the lowest native ISO (I have a 6D, so that will be ISO 100) and then you will have to decide on the depth of field = your aperture. You want to blur the background and you will need to choose the widest aperture that works in your circumstances. The shutter speed will pretty much be decided by the above considerations. The more people are in the photo, the more photos you should take, to maximize the chances that there will be a few shots in which everyone looks good. In a group photo you will need to increase the DOF, especially if people are lined up in rows, behind one another. If the photo includes fidgety children, you will need to increase the shutter speed to eliminate motion blur. Tony has an excellent video on group photos and he does a much better job explaining portrait photography principles than I could possibly do.