tbaac

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Lenses:Canon EF-S 18-135 mm F/3.5-5.6
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 60D

Posted 13 October 2015 - 02:42 PM

Hi

Sorry to start another 'should I buy this camera' thread, but...

Do most people on this forum who have a micro four-thirds camera use it as a second camera for times when they want to leave the DSLR at home?

I'm not a professional, and not planning on being one.

I plan on enjoying taking photographs, and working through Tony's SDP book.

I have a limited budget and want a newer camera.

As you'll see in my signature I have a Lumix G1 and a couple of lenses.

I'd planned on selling those and putting it towards a D3300 and perhaps a Sigma 17-50 f2.8 lens, possibly both bought used.

Then I thought maybe I'd be as well buying a G6 body instead.

Presumably the Sigma lens is going to be noticeably better than the Lumix 14-45mm, but then selling the 14-45mm and buying the Sigma will have a price difference, one that I could otherwise put towards another lens for the G6.

So, would it be silly to buy a G6 over a D3300?

Regarding the G1, I enjoyed using the EVF but found it sluggish in low light.

Thanks.

#2 tbaac

tbaac

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Lenses:Canon EF-S 18-135 mm F/3.5-5.6
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 60D

Posted 14 October 2015 - 01:56 AM

Okay, its probably not comparing like-with-like.  I mentioned a heavier lens on the DSLR (the Sigma) and if could have a D7200 for the price of a D3300 I would so obviously its not the small size that is the main selling point.

As I said I like the EVF but that's probably not enough to outweigh advantages of the cheaper DSLRs.

Sorry

#3 RAH1861

RAH1861

<3 SDP

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 576 posts
  • LocationHampton, NH
  • Lenses:Sigma 17-50mm f2.8; Canon 60mm macro; Canon 400mm f5.6L; Canon 10-18mm; Canon 24mm pancake; Canon 55-250; Tamron 70-300; Sigma 18-250; Samyang Fisheye; Samyang 16mm; Samyang 35mm; Tokina 12-24mm