• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Lenses:16-55mm
    55-210mm
    16-70 Zeiss F4
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Sony a6000

Posted 05 September 2015 - 11:30 AM

Hello.  I have been using a Mac for 7 years now for personal use.  I have always used iPhoto to organize my pictures.  Last year I got interested in taking pictures so I bought a mirrorless camera and the rest is history as they say.  I am looking to optimize the storing of pictures as well as creating a workflow that allows ease of time but most importantly the ability to know where both original and edited pictures are.

I am pretty tech savvy but I realize now that I have made a mistake when I started storing pictures in iPhoto.  More specifically I have been importing them into iPhoto so they are being stored in some format and directory structure that does not allow an easy method to find the original pictures or the edited version for that matter.  This issue is now compounded even further since the release of Photos which has removed some of the functionality that iPhoto had.  E.g. Exporting to an external editor as well as the ability to open the folder that contains the original file.  This gets even more complicated as I started using Lightroom and Photoshop for editing.  

I have some questions...

1) What application are folks using to store their pictures on a Mac?   E.g.  iPhoto, Photos, Lightroom, etc...   I can't imagine Photos being an option since their is no ability to edit pictures externally.

2) What is the suggested workflow when editing a picture on a Mac?   I am not asking about the steps to edit a picture, I am looking for how one moves from various applications and how they save files which allow good organization and the ability to find photos especially as content grows over time.  E.g.  iPhoto -> Lightroom -> Photoshop.