• Lenses:Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art
    Nikon Nikkor 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED AF-S VR ED DX
    Nikon AF‑S DX Nikkor 18‑55mm f/3.5‑5.6G VR
  • Flashes:None
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D3100
    Nikon D5500
    iPhone 7 Plus

Posted 06 July 2017 - 01:58 PM

Noob here at SDP... Been watching Tony and Chelsea for a good while now.

I've been looking for a place where I can get real feedback on my photos, so I can learn to get better...

These three images were taken at the same spot (Pigeon Point, CA, on the Pacific coast, about 60 miles south of San Francisco), on three separate days.

I noticed the light leak streaks in two of the images, and now religiously cap the viewfinder to avoid that.

Any other feedback would be greatly appreciated.

(Adding settings/filter info):

#1 (lighthouse): f/16 24mm 28s ISO100 with 10-stop ND

#2 (coastline): f/16 30mm 136s ISO100 with 10-stop ND

#3 (cove): f/16 22mm 162s ISO100 with 10-stop ND 

Attached Files

#2 Roderick

Roderick

Master Photographer

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,442 posts
  • LocationDublin, Ireland
  • Lenses:Centon 500mm f8.0 Mirror (!)
    Sigma 24-105 f4 DG OS HSM A
    Tamron 150-600mm f5-6.3
    Samyang 14mm f2.8 manual
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D750
    Sony NEX-6

Posted 06 July 2017 - 02:53 PM

Beautiful images.

The first one would also look good in b&w but the you'd loose the warm light coming off the promontory.  I like the light reflection on the lighthouse.  Possibly a re-crop to move the lighthouse to comply with that "rule of thirds" ?

The second one is great.  I thought it was a long exposure of water but it looks like for ?  Either way, a very, very nice photograph.

I love the textures in the sea and sky in no.3.  It looks a little soft on the rocks in the foreground.  The overall scene is great.

Welcome, ;)

#3 MarkM

MarkM

Super Geek

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • LocationOrange County, California