4 replies to this topic

#1 MrWild

MrWild

Super Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • LocationTampa, Florida
  • Lenses:Panasonic Leica DG Vario-Elmar 100-400mm f/4-6.3 ASPH. POWER O.I.S. Lens - for sale

Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR Lens
    DX NIKKOR 16-80mm f/2.8-4E ED VR Lens
    Nikon AF Micro-NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8D Lens
    Nikon AF-S TC-14E III 1.4x
    Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8E FL ED VR Lens
    Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens
  • Flashes:Metz mecablitz 52 AF-1 digital Flash for Olympus/Panasonic/Leica Cameras - for sale

Sirui P-326 Carbon Fiber Monopod with Induro GHB1 Gimbal Head
    Oben CT-3461 Carbon Fiber Travel Tripod with BE-117T Ball Head
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D500

Posted 01 June 2017 - 12:15 AM

This is my first attempt. I will have a macro lens on Friday, but I am just starting in photography nevermind Macro :-o  

Butterfly

D500 with 200-500 f/5.6

1/1000 sec ISO 5600 f/5.6 0EV

Flower

D500 with 200-500 f/5.6

1/20 sec ISO 320 f/6.3 +1 EV 

To get more of the flower in focus I am guessing higher F stop like 22 and then decrease shutter speed to 1/2 (about) sec and stick it on a tripod to keep the ISO down and eliminate camera blur? 

Attached Files

#2 geedee

geedee

Dedicated SDP Member

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,232 posts
  • Lenses:Nikon 16-35 VR f4 50mm f1.4 70-200 VR II f2.8 x2 converter
    18-70 f3.5-4.5DX (kit for D70s)
    Tamron 150-600 f5-6.3
    Cannon 50mm f1.8
  • Flashes:Nikon SB 910
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Cannon AE1
    Nikon D70S D800

Posted 01 June 2017 - 02:44 AM

I have tried out a few Macro pics, thus am NO expert... I might think of your pics as close-up as opposed to macro, once you either start using extension tubes or your new macro lens you will perhaps discover the difference between getting close with non macro kit and that which you can capture in true macro.