#1 aggiecutter

aggiecutter

• Stunners
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Lenses:Canon 15-85
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Canon 80D

Posted 14 March 2017 - 08:30 PM

Is it necessary to use a custom white balance in camera, or shoot a picture of a white balance card in the lighting you are taking your photos in(then apply in post) for landscape photography. Or, can proper white balance be attained in post without a custom white balance or white balance card as a reference for your photos.

#2 MarkM

MarkM

Super Geek

• Stunners
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 322 posts
  • LocationOrange County, California
  • Lenses:AF-S Nikkor 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
    AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8E ED VR
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D750
    Sony RX100 M4

Posted 14 March 2017 - 09:07 PM

I've learned you can adjust it in post. On the other hand you can do the best you can in-camera and save time for other production editing.
I'm still learning. So I'm trying to get it "right" in camera.

#3 elcab18

elcab18

Master Photographer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,575 posts
  • LocationSo Cal
  • Lenses:Nikon 12-24
    Nikon 16-35
    Nikon 50
    Nikon 24-85
    Nikon 70-200
    Nikon 105 micro
    Nikon 200-500 f 5.6
  • Flashes:Yongnuo YN 568 EX
  • Camera Body or Bodies:Nikon D610
    Nikon D500

Posted 14 March 2017 - 09:30 PM

IMHO white balance is probably the most important adjustment you can make to bring out true life to you photos.  I let the the gear make the initial decision by setting it to auto, then keep a mental snapshot, and then carefully adjust in post.  You will know when it's right!  Cameras can be fooled, the basic exposure setting is a prime example.

Doug

#4 JestePhotography

JestePhotography

Master Photographer

• Stunners
  • 4,654 posts
  • LocationMosquitoville(lol), Alberta
  • Lenses:Nikon 400mm f2.8E FL ED VR
    Sigma 120-300mm f2.8 DG OS HSM sport
    Nikon 105mm f2.8 AF-S VR IF ED
    Nikon 1.4, 1.7 and 2x TC
    Tripod: Manfrotto 055CXPRO3